Skip navigation

I laugh at the sentimental nineties kids. Do they not remember how much it sucked? I don’t miss them one bit. No facebook, twitter, cell phones, tumblr, just shitty reruns on the staticky satellite on the Disney channel. Or farm TV with three channels, CBC, CTV and the French channel. If you needed to call and you were out and about you had to use a payphone. If you didn’t have a quarter you were SOL. Computers were glorified typewriters that you could write papers with and play Oregon Trail if you were lucky. The mile-high, stiff, hair-sprayed hair. The atrocious fashions that were like a rainbow that threw up. Getting your news from the television. Using landlines to talk to your friends or actually having to get off the couch and walk to their house. I had to go outside and ride my bike for entertainment. You can only skip so many snakes at the local watering hole before you get bored to tears. People that miss the nineties are fools, fools I tell you! The only thing I miss is blaring MC Hammer and 2live crue to annoy the hell out of my parents and convince them that kids these days will grow up to be miscreants and ne’er do wells. Hammer pants were comfortable even if they were a fashion nightmare. Can you believe that my dad wore hammer pants? I guess I can’t fault him for that. I thought I looked pretty good in my jean skirt and Hawaiian scenery shirt.

3 Comments

  1. Egad! I lived through the 90’s and I don’t think I was aware of them, other than sunrises, sunsets and changes of scenery. And don’t forget that the internet was born in the 90’s as was flaming and trolling. I remember that first time I looked at a browser and was amazed.

    • You are a wiser man than me, my friend. I remember the nineties vividly and this post was inspired by all the sentimental goo oozing out of the internet. I was getting a little annoyed with all the people who seem to forget that the nineties weren’t all puppies and rainbows.

  2. I actually liked a majority of that stuff/still do some of that – but like I more or less said on facebook, each to their own πŸ˜‰ there are things I am glad that we have now, things weren’t perfect back then but they weren’t that bad either. I didn’t mind watching CBC, or calling people on the landline – I still do that with some people, the ones who will still do that, and I enjoy getting off my couch and going to people’s houses to see them, I just wish we all did that more often. But to answer your question, no I can not believe your dad wore hammer pants – that’s pretty awesome πŸ™‚


Leave a comment