Skip navigation

I saw this really cool story in the newspaper the other day.  What I mean by the newspaper is the Starphoenix website, of course.  I haven’t bought a newspaper in years.   An architect named Jay Schaffer built a house that is 89 square feet.  Somehow he manages to live in this little tiny house.  Yes, not only does he build teeny weeny houses for a living but he lives in the smallest house that he makes.  After watching his video I think I might be able to build one myself.  They make it look so easy.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to be able to live in such a tiny house?  Your utility bills would be dirt cheap.  You would save so much money.  There would be a lot less housework because there is a lot less house.  Jay has no problem living in his tiny house.  But I know there is no way I could handle getting rid of all the unnecessary stuff that clutters up my life and living in a little house.  Driving a little tiny car is one thing.  Living in a tiny house is not something I could do.

Isn’t having an enormous house the big old American dream?  But it’s really a trap.  You spend your whole life paying for a house when you could have had far more free time.  Then we fill our big houses with even more stuff that we don’t need.  There has to be a better way!  Let me know when you figure it out.

If I ever do manage to build one of these I just might park it in my back yard and live in it for a while if I am feeling hermit-like.

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By What I Did On My Summer Vacation « nettleburn on 28 Aug 2011 at 12:16 am

    […] being able to build a house from start to finish. That is why I got so pumped about those excellent Tumbleweed houses. One day, one […]

Leave a Reply

